Skip to content

Heilbronn Institute for Mathematical Research

Organisational unit: Research Grouping

Organisation profile

The Heilbronn Institute is a partnership between Bristol University and the Government Communications Headquarters. Established in October 2005, the Heilbronn brings together high-calibre mathematicians from various disciplines to conduct theoretical research into key areas of mathematics.

The Institute has about 30 members including both established researchers on secondment and some with recently awarded PhDs; their fields of expertise include topics in number theory, algebraic geometry, algebra,  combinatorics,  probability, quantum information, computational statistics and statistical learning.

Each member of the Institute spends half their time pursuing research directed by the Government Communications Headquarters, and the other half doing personal academic research. Research fellows of the institute are active in the Pure, Applied and Probability and Statistics research groups, including participation in a number of seminar series and reading groups.

The work of the Institute is managed by a Director and Associate Director, advised by Strategic Director Professor Trevor Wooley.  The founding Director of the Heilbronn was Professor Elmer Rees and his successor was Professor Malcolm MacCallum.

Past and present contributors to the Institute's work have included many distinguished mathematicians, such as Profs. Sir John Ball, Bryan Birch, Clifford Cocks, David Hand, Roger Heath-Brown, Christopher Hooley, Frank Kelly, James Norris, Michael Paterson, Tony Scholl, Nicholas Shepherd-Barron, Sir Martin Taylor and Dominic Welsh.

The institute organizes a two-day annual conference and two or more workshops and 'Heilbronn Days' each year, and it sponsors events and conferences organized elsewhere.

View research connections

Contact information

2.25 Howard House
Department of Mathematics
University Walk
United Kingdom
  • Phone: +44 (0)117 331 5260